First Class CW Operators' Club


FOC Member W4YE Receives QCWA Award

  • 24 Feb 2013 21:03
    Message # 1225301
    Anonymous member (Administrator)

    In early December the Quarter Century Wireless Association Board of Directors voted unanimously to award Leland "Buddy" Smith, W4YE, (FOC #1217) the John DiBlasi Award, for his tireless work while Chair of the QCWA Scholarship Progam. The award was presented by W4VIC (on the left) at the Frostfest hamfest in February.

    FOC and QCWA wish to congratulate Buddy on receiving this coveted Award while serving as Scholarship Chair for the past ten years.

    When Croft Taylor, VE3CT, (SK) was QCWA President, he had asked Buddy to take over from Jim Walsh, W7LVN (SK). Buddy's father Leland Smith Sr., W5KL, also worked with the Scholarship Program for many years.

    The John DiBlasi Award may be awarded to any QCWA member who has over a long period of time made an outstanding contribution to the honor and preservation of our Association. The John DiBlasi Award was established April 15, 1984, in honor of our first president, John DiBlasi, W2FX, who served from 1947 to 1964.
    Last modified: 25 Feb 2013 00:50 | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Copyright © First Class CW Operators' Club (FOC). No reproduction without the express consent of FOC. All Rights Reserved. Privacy policy